# RURAL CITY COUNCIL News



Council highlights presented to the community on the last friday of every month

# Award recipients 2024

#### Citizen of the Year

#### Congratulatios to Ross Cleeland

Ross has been recognised for a lifetime dedicated to community service and an unwavering commitment to the betterment of the Swan Hill municipality. This award is a testament to Ross's outstanding contributions, reflecting the gratitude and admiration of a community that has been positively impacted by his generosity and efforts.



## **Young Citizen of the Year**

#### Shannon 'Ducky' Polglase

Well done to Shannon "Ducky" Polglase who has been recognised for his exceptional resilience, extraordinary courage, remarkable leadership, and an outstanding contribution to the community. His journey has been marked by overcoming trials and trauma with unwavering positivity. In the face of adversity, he has demonstrated extraordinary courage, emerging as an inspirational figure within our community.



# **Community Event of the Year**

#### **Mallee Cruisers Show and Shine**

The Mallee Cruisers were awarded Community Event of the Year for their Show and Shine event at Riverside Park. The event attracted 120 entrants from various locations from right across the region and boosted the local economy. There were approximately 600 enthusiastic attendees, and all profits were channeled back into the community to support mental health initiatives. Congratulations Mallee Cruisers!



### **Student Achievement Awards**

Each year we have the privilege to recognise the achievements of young people in our municipality. Congratulations to our 2024 Student Achievement Award Recipients.



**Aidan Plant –** Manangatang P-12



**Aubrey Ibbs** – Nyah District Primary School



**Brock Baker –** St Mary McKillop College



Connor Robertson – Swan Hill Primary School



Ella Davis - Lake Boga Primary School



**Emily Lawry** – St Mary's Primary School



**Kye Pearce** – Swan Hill North Primary School



Matilda Patterson – Woorinen Dist Primary School



**Lachlan Roberts –** Swan Hill Specialist School



**Micah Dodgshun –** Swan Hill Christian School



Montana Zappia – Robinvale St Mary's School



Tillie Shadbolt – Beverford Primary School



Wade Best -Robinvale College



Zoe Steicke - Swan Hill College

Pictured L to R: Zoe Steicke, Swan Hill Rural City Council Aboriginal Community Development Officer Jacinta Chaplin, Tillie Shadbolt, Aubrey Ibbs and Cr King.